USU LINKS: USU home l A-Z Index l calendar l MyUSU l contact l people/web search



(use the navigation bar below to find specific information)

The Western Literature Association’s
Distinguished Achievement Award

2009 Award Recipient: Cormac McCarthy
2008 Award Recipients: William Kittredge and Patty Limerick
2007 Award Recipient: Sherman Alexie
2006 Award Recipient: Terry Tempest Williams
2005 Award Recipients: Gerald Vizenor and Joan Didion
2004 Award Recipients: Mary Clearman Blew and Thomas King
2003 Award Recipients: Sandra Cisneros and José David Saldívar, Ramón Saldívar, and Sonia Saldívar-Hull
2002 Award Recipients: Annette Kolodny and Alberto A. Ríos
2001 Award Recipients: Patricia Hampl and Roderick Nash
2000 Award Recipient: Joy Harjo
1999 Award Recipients: James D. Houston and Gerald Haslam
1998 Award Recipient: Rudy Wiebe
1997 Award Recipient: Rudolfo Anaya
1996 Award Recipient: Tillie Olsen
1995 Award Recipient: Robert Kroetsch
1994 Award Recipients: James Maguire, Wayne Chatterton, and James Welch
1993 Award Recipient: Tony Hillerman
1992 Award Recipient: Louise Erdrich
1991 Award Recipient: Ann Zwinger
1990 Award Recipient: Elmer Kelton
1989 Award Recipients: Ivan Doig and Mildred R. Bennett
1988 Award Recipients: Ken Kesey and Max Westbrook
1987 Award Recipients: Larry McMurtry and Thomas J. Lyon
1986 Award Recipients: Benjamin Capps and Don D. Walker
1985 Award Recipients: Américo Paredes and William Eastlake
1984 Award Recipient: Gary Snyder
1983 Award Recipient: N. Scott Momaday
1982 Award Recipient: Thomas Hornsby Ferril
1981 Award Recipient: Dorothy Johnson
1980 Award Recipients: Sophus Keith Winther and Bernice Slote
1979 Award Recipient: Wright Morris
1978 Award Recipient: Edward Abbey
1977 Award Recipient: Thomas McGrath
1976 Award Recipient: William Stafford
1975 Award Recipient: Jack Schaefer
1974 Award Recipients: Wallace Stegner and J. Golden Taylor
1973 Award Recipient: Paul Horgan
1972 Award Recipient: A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
1971 Award Recipients: Harvey Fergusson and John G. Neihardt
1970 Award Recipient: Henry Nash Smith
1969 Award Recipient: Walter Van Tilburg Clark
1968 Award Recipient: Frank Waters
1967 Award Recipient: Frederick Manfred
1966 Award Recipient: Vardis Fisher
Copyright © 2009 Western Literature Association. If you encounter any problems with this site, please contact the webmaster, Sabine Barcatta, at (435) 797-1603 or