USU LINKS: USU home l A-Z Index l calendar l MyUSU l contact l people/web search



(use the navigation bar below to find specific information)

The Frederick Manfred Award
for Creative Writing

Instituted in 2001 and named for a celebrated writer and longtime WLA member, the Frederick Manfred Award goes to the writer of the best piece of creative writing (whether poetry, short story, memoir or other creative nonfiction), read by the writer at the fall conference and submitted by June 15 to the WLA president in the approximate length in which it will be read (preferably under 20 minutes). To be eligible for the award, a piece cannot have been accepted for publication in any form by the submission deadline.

2009 Award Recipient:
Denice Turner for "Shadow Legacy"
2008 Award Recipient:
J. J. Clark for “As Is”
2007 Award Recipient:
Joshua Dolezal for “Selway by Headlamp”
2004 Award Recipient:
Russ Beck for “When I Believe in Faith”
No prize awarded in 2005.
22004 Award Recipient:
Terre Ryan for “In the Name of the Bomb: Confessions of a Cold War Catholic Kid”
2003 Award Recipient:
Laurie Clements Lambeth for “Fluid on the Brain”
2002 Award Recipient:
Michael L. Johnson for “Southwestern Afllatus.”
2001 Award Recipient:
Lee Ann Roripaugh for “‘Mitten Springs’ and Other Poems Searching for Home: Japanese Americans in the American West.”


Copyright © 2009 Western Literature Association. If you encounter any problems with this site, please contact the webmaster, Sabine Barcatta, at (435) 797-1603 or