USU LINKS: USU home l A-Z Index l calendar l MyUSU l contact l people/web search



(use the navigation bar below to find specific information)

 The J. Golden Taylor Award

Named in honor of the first editor of Western American Literature, and also one of the Western Literature Association’s founders and presidents, the Taylor Award is a prestigious award juried by a team of experts in the field and given annually to a work of scholarship submitted for the annual conference. Creative work is not considered for the Taylor; however, creative work may be submitted to the association's Manfred Prize, and graduate student participants have been successful in winning that in the past (see Manfred Award).

For the Taylor, submit an abstract by the proposal deadline (usually in mid-June). Once your proposal has been accepted, submit the complete, conference-length paper (not exceeding 15 pages) with a cover letter indicating that you wish to be considered for the Taylor Award to the conference president. The deadline for the completed paper is August 1. Note: the award can only be received once.

2009 Award Recipient: Joshuah O'Brien
2008 Award Recipient: Matthew J. Lavin
2007 Award Recipient: Patrick Gleason
2006 Award Recipient: Angela Waldie
2005 Award Recipient: John Gamber
2004 Award Recipient: Ianina Arnold
2003 Award Recipient: Matt Burkhart
2002 Award Recipient: Laurie Clements Lambeth
2001 Award Recipient: Virginia Kennedy
2000 Award Recipient: Jenny Emery Davidson
1999 Award Recipient: Jenny Emery Davidson
1998 Award Recipient: Anne L. Kaufman
1997 Award Recipient: Jonathan Pitts
1996 Award Recipient: Wes Mantooth
1995 Award Recipient: Phil Coleman-Hull
1994 Award Recipient: David Mazel
1993 Award Recipient: Evelyn I. Funda
1989 Award Recipient: Nat Lewis
1988 Award Recipient: Nancy Cook
1987 Award Recipient: Cheryll Burgess Glotfelty
1986 Award Recipient: Linda A. Hughson-Ross
1984 Award Recipient: Anne K. Phillips

Front row: Joshuah O'Brien (2009), Cheryll Glotfelty (1987), Matthew Lavin (2008)
Back row: Matt Burkhart (2003), Nancy Cook (1988), Anne Kaufman (1998), Evelyn Funda (1993)

Copyright © 2009 Western Literature Association. If you encounter any problems with this site, please contact the webmaster, Sabine Barcatta, at (435) 797-1603 or wal@usu.edu.