• Testimonials

    I can't overstate the importance of WLA to my career. I felt so welcomed as a graduate student that WLA has become my intellectual home.
    Nancy Cook
    Associate Professor, English Department, University of Montana, Missoula

The J. Golden Taylor Award

Named in honor of the first editor of Western American Literature, and also one of the Western Literature Association’s founders and presidents, the Taylor Award is a prestigious award juried by a team of experts in the field and given annually to a work of scholarship submitted for the annual conference. Creative work is not considered for the Taylor; however, creative work may be submitted to the association’s Manfred Prize, and graduate student participants have been successful in winning that in the past (see Manfred Award).

For the Taylor, submit an abstract by the proposal deadline. Once your proposal has been accepted, submit the complete, conference-length paper (not exceeding 15 pages) with a cover letter indicating that you wish to be considered for the Taylor Award to the conference president. The deadline for the completed paper is August 15. Please send it to both of our presidents: Emily Lutenski and Michael Johnson.

This year, the award consists of a $200 cash prize and a banquet ticket.


Note: The award can only be received once.

The J. Golden Taylor Award Recipients

2017Elena Valdez
2016Jada Ach
2015Jenna Hunnef
2014Aubrey Streit Krug
2013Heather Dundas
2012Sylvan Goldberg
2011Christopher Muniz
2010Alex Young
2009Joshuah O'Brien
2008Matthew J. Lavin
2007 Patrick Gleason
2006Angela Waldie
2005John Gamber
2004Ianina Arnold
2003Matt Burkhart
2002Laurie Clements Lambeth
2001Virginia Kennedy
2000Jenny Emery Davidson
1999Jenny Emery Davidson
1998Anne L. Kaufman
1997Jonathan Pitts
1996Wes Mantooth
1995Phil Coleman-Hull
1994David Mazel
1993Evelyn I. Funda
1989Nat Lewis
1988Nancy Cook
1987Cheryll Burgess Glotfelty
1986 Linda A. Hughson-Ross
1984Anne K. Phillips


  • Western Literature Association (WLA)

    Founded in 1965, the Western Literature Association (WLA) is a non-profit, scholarly association that promotes the study of the diverse literature and cultures of the North American West, past and present.

  • Western American Literature (WAL)

    (The Journal)

    Published by the Western Literature Association, Western American Literature is the leading journal in western American literary studies.