• Testimonials

    The WLA has provided an invaluable intellectual home for me as I have worked to forge a professional identity over the course of my time in graduate school.
    Alex Young
    Copeland Fellow, Amherst College

The Susan J. Rosowski Award

This award was instituted by the WLA Executive Council in 2005 and was given for the first time at the 2006 WLA Conference in Boise. It is awarded every other year (in even years).

The Susan J. Rosowski Award recipients

2018No award was given.
2016William R. Handley
2014Evelyn I. Funda
2012Melody Graulich and Annette Kolodny
2010Cheryll Glotfelty
2008Susan Naramore Maher
2006James H. Maguire

Susan Rosowski (1942–2004), long-time WLA member and University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s Adele Hall University Professor, epitomized what it means to be a generous and caring mentor and teacher. While her service to the Association and to Cather studies on a national level was exemplary and her scholarship (The Voyage Perilous [1986] and Birthing a Nation [1999]) was singular and remains widely used, Sue is best remembered as a teacher and mentor of unparalleled quality.
The association welcomes nominations of outstanding teachers and mentors in the field of western American literature. Candidates can be nominated by students or colleagues with a letter of support addressed to the award decision committee; candidates can also self-nominate. Once nominated, the candidate will be notified and invited to submit supporting materials  that may include the following:

  • Letters of support from students, editors, and/or faculty peers
  • Syllabi, especially for courses using western American literature
  • Narrative letter about teaching/mentoring philosophy
  • Documentation of advising
  • Pedagogical publications or other evidence of innovative curriculum design
  • Abbreviated CV (no more than 2 pages) that highlights relevant accomplishments

These materials are due August 1, 2018.

Once nominated, the candidate stays in the pool of nominees for two award cyclesHowever, members who were nominated prior to the previous award cycle may be renominated and may resubmit updated materials. Members who have previously won the award will not be considered for a second nomination. Nominees are strongly encouraged to attend the WLA conferences during which their files are being considered.
Letters of nomination (by fellow WLA members, fellow faculty at home universities, students, or self-nominations) are due June 1, 2018.

Nominations or questions about the award may be addressed via email to Evelyn Funda, Rosowski Chair,
or by mail to

Evelyn Funda
English Department
Utah State University
3200 Old Main Hill
Logan UT 84321-3200.


  • Western Literature Association (WLA)

    Founded in 1965, the Western Literature Association (WLA) is a non-profit, scholarly association that promotes the study of the diverse literature and cultures of the North American West, past and present.

  • Western American Literature (WAL)

    (The Journal)

    Published by the Western Literature Association, Western American Literature is the leading journal in western American literary studies.