• Testimonials

    I could not have chosen a better conference or wished for a more welcoming, interested, and supportive group of scholars and colleagues to engage with.
    Johannes Fehrle, 2020
    Owens Award recipient 2011 and EC Member 2013-2016

WLA’s Distinguished Achievement Award


The WLA’s Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients

2022Luci Tapahonso
2021No award was given due to rescheduling of the conference to 2022.
2020Juan Felipe Herrera
2020Stephen Graham Jones
2019Leslie Marmon Silko
2018Percival Everett & José E. Limón
2017Rick Shiomi
2016Maxine Hong Kingston
2015LeAnne Howe & Robert Laxalt
2014Connie Kaldor
2013Robert Hass & Louis Owens
2012Richard Slotkin & Joss Whedon
2011Thomas McGuane
2010Luis Valdez
2009Cormac McCarthy
2008William Kittredge and Patty Limerick
2007 Sherman Alexie
2006Terry Tempest Williams
2005Gerald Vizenor and Joan Didion
2004Mary Clearman Blew and Thomas King
2003Sandra Cisneros and José David Saldívar, Ramón Saldívar, and Sonia Saldívar-Hull
2002Annette Kolodny and Alberto A. Ríos
2001Patricia Hampl and Roderick Nash
2000Joy Harjo
1999James D. Houston and Gerald Haslam
1998Rudy Wiebe
1997Rudolfo Anaya
1996Tillie Olsen
1995Robert Kroetsch
1994James Maguire, Wayne Chatterton, and James Welch
1993Tony Hillerman
1992Louise Erdrich
1991Ann Zwinger
1990Elmer Kelton
1989Ivan Doig and Mildred R. Bennett
1988Ken Kesey and Max Westbrook
1987Larry McMurtry and Thomas J. Lyon
1986 Benjamin Capps and Don D. Walker
1985Américo Paredes and William Eastlake
1984Gary Snyder
1983N. Scott Momaday
1982 Thomas Hornsby Ferril
1981Dorothy Johnson
1980Sophus Keith Winther and Bernice Slote
1979Wright Morris
1978Edward Abbey
1977Thomas McGrath
1976William Stafford
1975Jack Schaefer
1974Wallace Stegner and J. Golden Taylor
1973Paul Horgan
1972A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
1971Harvey Fergusson and John G. Neihardt
1970Henry Nash Smith
1969Walter Van Tilburg Clark
1968Frank Waters
1967Frederick Manfred
1966Vardis Fisher

  • Western Literature Association (WLA)

    Founded in 1965, the Western Literature Association (WLA) is a non-profit, scholarly association that promotes the study of the diverse literature and cultures of the North American West, past and present.

  • Western American Literature (WAL)

    (The Journal)

    Published by the Western Literature Association, Western American Literature is the leading journal in western American literary studies.

  • Black Lives Matter

    The Western Literature Association (WLA) is in solidarity with Black communities, after the murders of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, and Breonna Taylor, and the ongoing pattern of systemic racism and injustice that targets black and brown bodies. ...http://www.westernlit.org/black-lives-matter/